

"First Choice in Business Governance"

MINUTES OF THE 12TH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

- Date : 17th July 2009
- Venue : Anthurium Hall, Galadari Hotel, Colombo 01.
- Present : Refer the annex
 - 01. President Neil Perera called the meeting to order at 7.00 pm with the arrival of the chief guest and other invitees.
 - 02. Traditional oil lamp was lit by the distinguished invitees and office bearers.
 - 03. The president 2008/09 delivered the welcome speech and said that during his period, there was a war in the country and the association faced challenges in numerous forms. He mentioned that the theme was *building relationships* and it was the success story of the association right through out. He mentioned that MBA Alumni Association is a voluntary association and he had a good team as executive committee during this period. He thanked each and every Exco member for their contribution and the commitment during this period. He stressed that it is an essential and also an integral part of the association to help the faculty to upgrade and maintain the high standard MBA program hand-in-hand with the Faculty of Management and Finance of the University of Colombo. He pointed out that going together with our Annual Conference theme "Beyond Traditional Boundaries", we had successfully found the most prestigious Media sponsor for the entire year . Finally , President listed the most successfully completed projects such as Annual Budget Seminar, MBA night, Management Conference, Members Trip and lastly CSR project, which is the Prison OPD project this year.
 - 04. 11th AGM Minutes were read by the Secretary, Hemantha De Silva and were adopted by Jude Palitha Perera and seconded by Ranjith Rupasinghe.
 - 05. Treasurer, Indika Tennakoon presented the Audited Financial statements and stated that for the period under review, total assets rose to Rs.2,182,007/80 while the net



"First Choice in Business Governance"

income over expenses was Rs. 90,714/37. This was achieved despite the lack of an Annual Sponsor unlike in the past couple of years. Adoption of accounts was proposed by Pubudu De Zoysa and seconded by Indika Ranaweera.

- 06. It was unanimously agreed to appoint the present Auditor, M/S A.C.M. Ifhaam, as Auditor for the year 2009/2010.
- 07. Mr. K. Pushpakumara was unanimously appointed as the pro-tem chairman to conduct the meeting while electing new office bearers.
- 08. Mr. Anusha Wijeguneratne was elected uncontested as the President for the year 2009/10 as per the constitution.
- 09. The new members for the executive committee were elected unanimously. The Following were elected as the Executive committee for 2009/10.

		Proposed by	Seconded by
1. Mr. Anusha Wijeguneratne	President	-	-
2. Mr. Jude Fernando	Dep. President	Chandana Weeasuriya	Rohan Senevirathna
3. Mr. Chandana Weeraduriya	Vice President	Prasad Jayasuriya	Jude Fernando
4. Mr. Hemantha De Silva	Secretary	Indika Thennakoon	Anusha Wijegunarathne
5. Ms. Pubudu De Zoysa	Asst. Secretary	Anusha Wijegunarathne	Hemantha De Silva
6. Mr. Sarma Mahalingam	Treasurer	Neil Perera	Nishantha Jayasuriya
7. Mr. Nishantha Jayasooriya	Asst. Treasurer	Indika Thennakoon	Sadun Wickramasinghe
8. Mr. Indika Tennakoon	Exco member	Hemantha De Silva	Cahndana Weersuriya
9. Mr. Upali Ratnayake	Exco member	Neil Perera	Hilary Fernando
10. Mr. Thilak Weerasinghe	Exco member	Anusha Wijegunarathne	Jude Fernando
11. Mr. Tiran Gunarathna	Exco member	Pubudu Se Zoysa	Indika Thennakoon
12. Mr. Shanaka Wijeweera	Exco member	Neil De Mel	Prasad Jayasuriya
13. Mr. Anusha Liyanage	Exco member	Neil De Mel	Anusha Wijegunarathne
14. Ms. Kumudinie	Exco member	Neil De Mel	Anusha Wijegunarathne
15. Mr. Chandana Aluthgama	Exco member	Pubudu De Zoysa	Indika Thennakoon
16. Dr. Tissa Ravindra	Exco member	Hemantha De Silva	Indika Thennakoon
17. Mr. Neil Perera	Immediate Past		



"First Choice in Business Governance"

	President	
18. Mr. Chris Corea	Past President	
19. Mr. Neil De Mel	Past President	
20. Mr. Hilary Fernando	Past President	
21. Mr. Prasad Jayasuriya	Past President	

- 10. Newly elected President addressed the AGM and first took the opportunity to thank and wish the outgoing President and his team for the remarkable work done during the last year. He pointed out that the Association has gone from strength to strength since its inception, as a result of the hard work done by previous committees, the support extended by the membership & the generous sponsorships offered by various organizations & individuals. He congratulated the newly elected team who join as Exco members of the association and mentioned that the team will organize activities in line with the theme, "Strengthening Ties to achieve greater heights". He finally pointed out that the success and continuity of the association depends on the support given by its membership and urged the membership requesting their unforgettable support even in future.
- Chief Guest, Alumnus B A C Fernando addressed the AGM and educated the members about the Bank of Ceylon History from the inception and the present status of Bank of Ceylon.
- 12. New President Mr. Anusha Wijeguneratne presented an award to the outgoing president Neil Perera as a token of appreciation.
- 13. Secretary Hemantha De Silva delivered the vote of thanks.
- 14. Meeting was adjoined at 8.30 pm and followed by cocktails late into the night.



"First Choice in Business Governance"

Signed Anusha Wijegunarathne **President** Signed Hemantha De Silva Secretary